Embracing sad memories in the past can lead us to future success…

Reflecting back on my life trajectory, this is one of the things I have come to realize: embracing sad memories in the past can lead us to future success. Gaëlle

Reflecting back on my life trajectory, this is one of the things I have come to realize: embracing sad memories in the past can lead us to future success. Let me tell you why.

I had a rough childhood. I was bullied in school. It didn’t happen until I turned six, a tough year when my mom passed away. Her loss affected me deeply. I became really bad at school, and being penultimate in class was no surprise anymore. There is a day I will remember forever, when one teacher of mine humiliated me in front of the whole class. She said I was a dummy while literally pushing my forehead with her finger. Can you imagine how I must have felt after such a disgraceful incident? I felt miserable and I could not help but weep. I wanted to shrink until I became invisible, but I could not. I had no desire to come to class anymore, but I did. I tried to persuade myself that this was a nightmare that will one day turn into a fairy tale.

Fourteen years later, to my surprise, that very same story of mine inspired 20 young girls from the Peace Corps Volunteers’ Girls Leading Our World camp to keep their chins up while facing difficulties. And later, to my own surprise, the same story ended up inspiring many more youth groups both from the rural and the urban areas. I never thought that one day, people will look up to me this way.

Today, I feel like a conqueror, not because I’m the best (I know I’m not) but because then, I realize that my pain in the past has become a weapon for others to win their battle. This is what I’d call “future success”!

za

 

Leave a Reply

